Welcome to our Governors’ section


Please find below details of how our Local Governing Body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor. 


GovernorRoleResponsibilitiesDate of appointmentTerm Appointed byBusiness and pecuniary interestsAttendance (previous academic year)
Sue Cook Temporary Chair of Governors 15/09/2020?GB/Board N/A
Peter JonesParent Governor


Health & Safety

01/07/174 yearsGB/Board 100% (3 of 3 meetings)
Shelley BrownVice-chair of governors

SEN and inclusion

01/07/174 yearsGB/Board 66% (2 of 3 meetings)
Linda ChesworthHeadteacher 01/09/184 yearsEx-officio 100% (3 of 3 meetings)
Clare O'SullivanLocal governor



24/01/184 yearsGB/Board

Parallel History Charity

Member of Chartered College of Teachers

33% (1 of 3 meetings)
Mary EvansExecutive headteacher 01/09/174 yearsAcademy membersDirector at Harlow Education Trust66% (2 of 3 meetings)
Jane DayStaff governor 01/07/174 yearsGB/Board 100% (3 of 3 meetings)
Kerry CoeLocal governor


Stakeholder engagement

04/07/194 yearsGB/Board 100% (1 of 1 meetings)
Charlotte WardLocal Governor 02/02/20204 YearsGB/Board  
Stefania TrovatoLocal Governor 02/02/20204 YearsGB/Board  
Michael DoughtyLocal Governor 18/03/20214 YearsGB/Board  
Sam LambertAssociate Member 18/03/2021 GB/Board  


Former Governors (those who have left within the last 12 months)


Governor name Role Date of appointment Term of office Date of departure Appointed by Business and pecuniary interests Attendance record (previous academic year)
Brian Tarran Chair Of Governors  01/07/2017 4 Years 22/07/2020 GB/Board   100% (3 of 3 Meetings)
Katharine Henson Deputy head 01/07/17 4 years 31/12/18 GB/Board   100% (1 of 1 meetings)
Tom Kent Health and safety governor 01/07/17 4 years 29/01/19 GB/Board   0% (0 of 1 meetings)
Carly Brace Safeguarding governor 01/07/17 4 years 13/02/19 GB/Board   100% (2 of 2 meetings)



Governance within the Harlow Inspirational Learning Trust




Trust Members

Sue Cook


Ann Bard

William Cairns

Richard Attew


Board of Directors

William Cairns (Chair)

Julie Lane

Mary Evans (Executive Headteacher/CEO)

David Ives

Simon Plumb

Robert Warner

Clare O'Sullivan


Within the Harlow Inspirational Learning Trust (HILT), the ultimate strategic decision-making body is the Board of Trustees (sometimes referred to as the Trust Board of Directors). It is the responsibility of the Trustees to hold the executive headteacher to account, and to provide challenge and support to ensure the Trust fulfils its charitable remit, which is to deliver high-quality education to all our pupils.


Above the Board of Trustees is a committee of Members who are responsible for scrutinising the actions of the Board. Members appoint the Trustees, and can remove them if they are unhappy with their performance.


Under the Board of Directors sit three committees: the Finance, Audit and Strategy Committee – which takes a detailed look at finance, premises, health and safety and other matters on behalf of the Board – and the two Local Governing Bodies, one at Milwards and one at Henry Moore.


The job of the Local Governing Bodies is to be the eyes and ears of the Trust at the local level, and to monitor and report on whether the Trust’s strategic objectives and policies are being met. But the Local Governing Bodies also represent the views and needs of the school and its stakeholders within the Trust, so that Trust policies and decisions can take those views and needs into account.


The roles and responsibilities of these different layers of governance are set out in the Trust's Scheme of Delegation.



For further information on the Trust, its Members and Board of Trustees, visit the HILT website.

Welcome to our school website